The EU Prize for Journalism 2018 in Georgia

Rules and Conditions


The rules of the  EU Prize for Journalism have been inspired by the principles of the Georgian Charter of Journalistic Ethics and seek to encourage the professio­nalism and ethical conduct in Georgian Journalism.

Each applicant can submit only one entry to only one of the following Prize Categories:


A.Best story in print or online media;

B. Best feature story in broadcast or online media;

C. Best multimedia story;

D. Best investigative story in print, online, or broadcast media; 

E. Best online or print blog, opinion or column in print, online or broadcast media;

F. The most innovative and original piece of work in print, broadcast or online media;

G. Best documentary photo reflecting EU values (Human rights, including minority rights, social justice, respect for human dignity, freedom of speech, democracy, equality and rule of law) and published in print or online media; 

F.Best conflict-sensitive journalistic work contributing to confidence-building and peace in the context of armed conflicts in Georgia, displaying high standards of journalistic ethics and professionalism (The EUMM Special Prize for Peace Journalism).


The winners of 2016 and 2017 EU Prize for Journalism  will not be eligible to participate  


1. One winner will be announced for each Prize Category. The prizes are as follows:

·          For Categories (A), (B), (C), (D), (E), (F): cash prize of 1,250 EUR for each winner;

·          For category (G): The winner will receive a one-month fellowship at the London office of the Institute for War & Peace Reporting;


2.  The deadline for entries is 15 October  2018;


3.  Entries must have been originally published/ broadcast/ posted between 2nd  November 2017 and 15th October 2018 inclusive;


4. Entries must be in Georgian, English or Russian languages. Entries for Category G (the EUMM Special Prize for Peace Journalism) may also be submitted in Abkhazian and Ossetian languages;


5.  Only entries with a complete Application Form with requested attachments will be considered. Application Forms and Guidelines for Applicants are available at this site          


6. Applicants may only submit their own work;


7. Only citizens from Georgia within its internationally recognized borders are eligible to apply. They must be aged  18 years or older by 15 October 2018;


8.  The winners of 2016 and 2017  EU Prize for Journalism are not eligible to participate;


9.   Team entries will be accepted provided that all major contributors are listed on the entry form and that the team does not exceed three (3) members; Entries for Category G (the EUMM Special Prize for Peace Journalism) may be submitted by individuals only;


10. The European Union reserves the right to reproduce entries in part or as a whole for the purpose of promoting the EU Journalism Prize and other activities funded by the European Union;


11.  In submitting an entry, the participant acknowledges that he or she has read and understood the rules, conditions and procedures of the EU Prize for Journalism;


12. Entries will be judged based on the following criteria:

·          For Categories (A), (B), (C), (D), (E) the criteria will be as follows: adherence to facts, depth of reporting, focus; fairness and balance; creativity and style; impact;

·          For Category (F) the criteria will be as follows: creativity and expressiveness; impact; addressing EU values (human rights, including minority rights, social justice, respect for human dignity, freedom of speech, democracy, equality and rule of law);

·          For Category (G) the criteria will be as follows: Impartiality and bias-free, relevance in contributing to confidence-building, peace and dialogue through media; adherence to high ethical standards of journalistic reporting on conflict sensitive issues; and signific ance and impact.


13.   The winner of each respective category will be announced by the end of 2018 at a public award ceremony, which will be advertised on 


14.   The jury will be composed of European and Georgian media professionals, and will act in an advisory function. The opinions of the jury will be submitted to the EU Delegation and the EUMM to Georgia, who will take them into account when deciding the winners. These decisions are final and cannot be appealed.


15.  Jury members and staff of the Delegation of the European Union to Georgia, EUMM, IWPR and "EU4Georgia" directly involved with the contest are not eligible to take part.


Follow us on social media