Factsheet and Figures
Area of responsibility: Georgia

Headquarters: Tbilisi

Field Offices:
• Gori
• Mtskheta
• Zugdidi
Starting date: 1 October 2008
Head of Mission: Marek Szczygiel
Mission strength: Over 200 EU monitors
Mission current budget: EUR  €38.2 million (2018/2020) 

Contributing states: All EU Member States can contribute to the Mission

The Mission’s tasks are:
To ensure that there is no return to hostilities;
To facilitate the resumption of a safe and normal life for the local communities living on both sides of the Administrative Boundary Lines (ABL) with Abkhazia and South Ossetia;
To build confidence among the conflict parties;
To inform EU policy in Georgia and the wider region
Factsheet  :   Updated in May 2020

The EUMM Monitors are selected from all European Union member states. Currently we have a total of 215 Monitors from 25 different EU member states. Our Monitors are located in Field Offices in Gori, Mtskheta and Zugdidi as well as the Mission Headquarters in Tbilisi. The Mission is also supported by two international colleagues based in Brussels.

Austria 5
Belgium 1
Bulgaria 14
Croatia 3
Cyprus 2
Czech Republic 7
Denmark 12
Estonia 2
Finland 11
France 0
Germany 18
Greece 10
Hungary 15
Ireland 9
Italy 6
Latvia 9
Lithuania 7
Luxembourg 2
Malta 3
Netherlands 12
Poland 14
Portugal 1
Romania 22
Slovakia 6
Slovenia 0
Spain 1
Sweden 23
Total 215
Updated: 2020-07-11
Follow us on social media