Application form

The rules of the EU Prize for Journalism have been inspired by the principles of the Georgian Charter of Journalistic Ethics and seek to encourage professionalism and ethics in the Georgian Journalism.

Each applicant can submit only one entry to only one of the following Prize Categories:

A. Best story in print or online media;

B. Best feature story in broadcast or online media;

C. Best investigative story /feature in print, online, or broadcast media;

D. Best online or print blog, opinion or column in print or online media;

E. The most innovative and original piece of work in print, online or broadcast media;

F. Best documentary photo reflecting EU values (Human rights, including minority rights, social justice, respect for human dignity, freedom of speech, democracy, equality and rule of law) and published in print or online media;

G. Best conflict-sensitive journalistic work contributing to confidence-building and peace in the context of armed conflicts in Georgia, displaying high standards of journalistic ethics and professionalism (The EUMM Special Prize for Peace Journalism).

1. One winner will be announced for each Prize Category.

The prizes are as follows:

Categories (A), (B), (C), (D), (E), (F): cash prizes of  Euros 1,250 each

Category (G): one month fellowship with the Institute of War and Peace Reporting in London.

2. The deadline for entries is 15 October 2019;

3. Entries must have been originally published/ broadcast/ posted between 16  October 2018 and 15 October 2019 inclusive;

4. Entries must be in Georgian, English or Russian languages. Entries for Category G (the EUMM Special Prize for Peace Journalism) may also be submitted in Abkhazian and Ossetian languages;

5. Only entries with a complete Application Form with requested attachments will be considered. Application Forms and Guidelines for Applicants are available at this site;

6. Applicants may only submit their own work; 

7. Only citizens from Georgia within its internationally recognized borders are eligible to apply. They must be aged 18 years or older by 15 October 2019; 

8. The winners (or co-authors of winners) of 2017  and 2018 EU Prize for Journalism (including EUMM Special Prize for Peace Journalism) will not be eligible to participate as authors or co-authors.

9. Team entries will be accepted provided that all major contributors are listed in the Application Form and that the team does not exceed three (3) members;  In case of winning, a whole team will receive 1,250 Euro.  Only single-author submissions will be accepted for Category G (the EUMM Special Prize for Peace Journalism);

10. The European Union reserves the right to reproduce entries in part or as a whole for the purpose of promoting the EU Journalism Prize and other activities funded by the European Union;

11. In submitting an entry, the participant acknowledges that he or she has read and understood the rules, conditions and procedures of the EU Prize for Journalism;

12. Entries will be judged based on the following criteria:

For Categories (A), (B), (C), (D), (E) the criteria will be as follows: adherence to facts, depth of reporting, focus; fairness and balance; creativity and style; impact;

For Category (F) the criteria will be as follows: creativity and expressiveness; impact; addressing EU values (human rights, including minority rights, social justice, respect for human dignity, freedom of speech, democracy, equality and rule of law);

For Category (G) the criteria will be as follows: Impartiality and bias-free, relevance in contributing to confidence-building, peace and dialogue through media; adherence to high ethical standards of journalistic reporting on conflict sensitive issues; and significance and impact.

13. The winner of each respective category will be announced by the end of 2019 at a public award ceremony which will be advertised on  ;

 14. The jury will be composed of European and Georgian media professionals, and will act in an advisory function. The opinions of the jury will be submitted to the EU Delegation and the EUMM Mission to Georgia, who will take them into account when deciding on the winners.  These decisions are final and cannot be appealed.

 15. Jury members and staff of the Delegation of the European Union to Georgia,  EUMM, IWPR  and any contractors, grantees, or other organisations  directly involved with the contest are not eligible to take part.

Follow us on social media