Press Releases

The EU Monitoring Mission Georgia announces Mr. Mamuka Kuparadze as the winner of the 2019 ‘Special Prize for Peace Journalism’

On 22 January 2020, the EU Monitoring Mission (EUMM) and the Delegation of the European Union to Georgia (EU Delegation) held the 2019 ‘EU Prize for Journalism’ Award Ceremony in Tbilisi. 

This year’s winner is journalist Mamuka Kuparadze with a TV piece titled: ‘An Interview with Temur Tskurbhat’. Mamuka works at Studio Re in Tbilisi and his interview demonstrates fair, balanced and prejudice free reporting. This is important in the Mission mandate. The prize will give him the opportunity to participate in a one-month fellowship at the Headquarters of the IWPR in London. 

The EUMM awards the prize for the ‘Special Prize for Peace Journalism’ for conflict-sensitive journalism which contributes to confidence-building, peace, and encourages reporting that builds bridges between divided communities. The EU Delegation awards the winners in six categories covering print, broadcast, online, and photo journalism.

The EUMM partner in this award is the Institute for War and Peace Reporting (IWPR), with its regional office based in Tbilisi.  

Previous winners have been:

2013       Olesya Vartanyan;
2014       Gogita Aptsiauri;
2015       Nino Chipchiuri;
2016       Gvantsa Doluashvili;
2017       Nino Gogua; 
2018       Nika Gablishvili

The Acting Head of the EUMM in Georgia, Ms. Kate Fearon, commented, “In situations where unresolved conflicts and conflict related tensions remain, confidence-building remains as imperative. Independent, investigative media are essential in taking forward a process of discourse between people across the Administrative Boundary Lines.”

Other finalists in the EUMM ‘Special Prize for Peace Journalism’ were Ms. Tamar Shonia (Radio Odishi), Ms. Natia Parekhekashvili (Trialeti TV), and Ms. Gvantsa Doluashvili. Each received an ‘Honourable Mention’ for their excellent entries.

More detailed information on the EU Journalist Prize can be found at this link

Further coverage on the award ceremony is available on EUMM social media accounts: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Flickr.  

Background Information:

The ‘EU Prize for Journalism’ was launched in 2012 by the EU Delegation and is the first of its kind in Georgia. The prize recognises works, which have contributed to promoting a better understanding of the values of the European Union, and reflect high standards of journalistic ethics and professionalism.

Acting Head of Mission, Ms.Kate Fearon, (left), Head of EU Delegation, Amb. Carl Hartzell (center) with his spouse and other ceremony attendees applaud to the winners

Mamuka Kuparadze, winner of the EUMM Special Prize, expresses his gratitude for the award to the EUMM

Proud winners excited to take a family photo

Acting Head of Mission, Ms.Kate Fearon (second from right), Head of EU Delegation, Amb. Carl Hartzell (first from right), with winners

Acting Head of Mission being interviewed by local media
Follow us on social media